IMR Awards 7 New Facility Grants

ORISadmin Awards, Facilities, General, IMR Grants

The OSU Institute for Materials Research (IMR) awarded seven new research projects in April 2011, for a total investment of $14,000.  These IMR Facility Grants support the work of faculty from eight departments within the College of Engineering, College of Pharmacy, and the Division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences.  

IMR Facility Grants provide up to $2,000 to assist OSU faculty with facility user access fees and related minor charges associated with conducting innovative materials-allied research.

 Full abstracts for each of these new Facility Grant projects can be found on our website at

High Throughput Production of Multi-Component Multi-Layered Acetalated Dextran-based Microparticle for Vaccination Applications

Lead Investigator: Kristy Ainslie, Division of Pharmaceutics, College of Pharmacy; Co-Investigators: Barbara Wyslouzil, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Sadhana Sharma, Research Scientist, Division of Pharmaceutics

Nanostructured Metal Surfaces for Electrocatalytic Chemical Conversion

Lead Investigator: Anne Co, Chemistry

Direct Writing and Infusion of Bioactive Molecules for Guided Microvessel Formation

Lead Investigator: John Lannutti, Materials Science and Engineering; Co-Investigators: Dave Farson, Materials Science and Engineering; Heather Powell, Materials Science and Engineering

Polymer-based Flexible and Stretchable RF Electronics

Lead Investigator: John Volakis, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Co-Investigator: Lanlin Zhang, Postdoctoral Researcher, Electroscience Lab

Silicon Carbide Cryogenic Neutron Damage Testing

Lead Investigator: Wolfgang Windl, Materials Science and Engineering; Co-Investigator: Thomas Blue, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Device Physics and Characterization of LaAlO3/SrTiO3 2DEG Fabricated by Ultra-High Vacuum Sputtering

Lead Investigator: Fengyuan Yang, Physics; Co-Investigator: Siddharth Rajan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Polymeric Artificial Compound Eye for Advanced Endoscopic Imaging

Lead Investigator: Yi Zhao, Biomedical Engineering