2023 Ohio State MMC Agenda

< Back to the main event page.

2023 Ohio State Materials and Manufacturing Conference

May 9-11, 2023 at the Fawcett Center, Columbus, Ohio


Tuesday, May 9 – Registration/coffee begins @ 8 a.m. (Conference Theater lobby)

Conference Theater

9 a.m.-12:25 p.m.

Welcome, Keynote and Plenary Session: Future Semiconductor Technologies
9 a.m. Welcome and Introductions
9:10-10 a.m. Keynote: Carolyn Duran, Intel Corporation

“Materials at the Heart of Semiconductor Innovation”

10-10:40 a.m. Asif Khan, Georgia Institute of Technology: “Ferroelectric memories”
10:55 a.m.
11:35 a.m.
Anant Agarwal, Ohio State: “History and Future of Silicon Carbide (SiC): 40 years past, the present, and into the next decade”
11:35 a.m.-
12:15 p.m.
Kelson Chabak, Air Force Research Laboratory: “Power Dense Microelectronics for Department of Air Force Applications”
12:15 – 12:20 p.m. Closing Comments
12:20-1:30 p.m. Lunch
1:30-4:45 p.m. Focus Session 1: Heterogeneous Integration for Si Optoelectronic Materials and Devices Focus Session 2: Magnetic Interfaces for Novel Electronic and Spin Devices
1:30-1:35 p.m. Welcome and Introductions Welcome and Introductions
1:35-2:20 p.m. Minjoo Lawrence Lee, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: “New directions in MBE growth for integrated photonics” David Cahill, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign”Heat-assisted magnetization switching of Mn3Sn and second-harmonic detection of the anomalous Nernst effect”
2:20-3:05 p.m. Weidong Zhou, University of Texas at Arlington: “Transfer printing automation for heterogeneous 3D photonic integration” Greg Fuchs, Cornell University: “Electrical switching of antiferromagnetic spin textures imaged using a scanning single-spin microscope”
3:05-3:15 p.m. Break Break
3:15-3:45 p.m. Tyler Grassman, Ohio State: “Development of High-Quality III-V/Si Heteroepitaxy for Monolithically Integration Optoelectronics” Jyoti Katoch, Carnegie Mellon: “Momentum-resolved view of emergent phenomena at atomically thin interfaces”
3:45-4:15 p.m. Seunghyun Lee, Ohio State: “Heterogeneous integration of GaAsSb on Si: A promising technology for near infrared high-performance avalanche photodiodes” Roland Kawakami, Ohio State: “Epitaxial 2D magnets and heterostructures with topological insulators”
4:15-4:45 p.m. Tawfiq Musah, Ohio State: “Engineering the Electro-Optical Interface: A high speed I/O Perspective” Jinwoo Hwang, Ohio State: “Atomic scale understanding of interface-driven ferromagnetic switching of antiferromagnetic LaFeO3”
4:45-7 p.m. Evening Reception – Ballroom and Patio
5 p.m. Finals for the Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) – Conference Theater
5:30 p.m. Student Poster Session – Ballroom


Wednesday, May 10 – Registration/coffee begins @ 8 a.m. (Conference Theater lobby)

Conference Theater

9 a.m.-12:15 p.m.

Cross-cutting Session: Future of Advanced Manufacturing: Structures, Batteries & Space
9-9:05 a.m. Welcome and Introductions
9:05-9:35 a.m. Ajay Misra, NASA Glenn Research Center: “Materials, Manufacturing, and Sustainability Challenges for Future Aerospace Batteries”
9:40-10:10 a.m. Sean Donegan, Air Force Research Laboratory: “Digital Manufacturing Research for Advanced Structures: Challenges & Opportunities”
10:15-10:45 a.m. Wei Chen, Northwestern University: “A Digital Twin Framework for Materials-Aware Product and Process Design”
10:45-11 a.m. Break
11-11:30 a.m. Steve Niezgoda, Ohio State: “Rethinking Certification and Qualification: How should we guarantee quality for high-value low volume manufacturing?”
11:35 a.m.-
12:05 p.m.
Tony Schmitz, University of Tennessee-Knoxville: “‘Machining learning’: Combining machining with machine learning for improved capabilities”
12:10-12:15 p.m. Closing Comments
12:15-1:30 p.m. Lunch
1:30-4:45 p.m. Focus Session 3: Next Generation Energy Storage Science and Technology Focus Session 4: Manufacturing in Space
1:30-1:35 p.m. Welcome and Introductions Welcome and Introductions
1:35-2:20 p.m. Eungje Lee, Argonne National Laboratory: “Development of Sustainable Materials for Sodium-Ion Batteries” Raymond G. Clinton, NASA/Marshall: “Make It – Don’t Take It: NASA’s Vision for Extraterrestrial Manufacturing and Construction”
2:20-3:05 p.m. Neil Dasgupta, University of Michigan: “Electro-Chemo-Mechanical Phenomena in Solid-State Batteries” Andrew Detor, DARPA/DSO: “Novel Orbital and Moon Manufacturing, Materials, and Mass-efficient Design (NOM4D)”
3:05-3:15 p.m. Break Break
3:15-3:45 p.m. Christo Sevov, Ohio State: “Pairing Redox Shuttles and Materials in Hybrid Flow Batteries” Antonio Ramirez, Ohio State: “Materials Joining and Additive Manufacturing in Space – OSU-NASA partnership to ‘fill the gap between Earth and Mars'”
3:45-4:15 p.m. Yiying Wu, Ohio State: “Potassium-based Batteries: Advantages and Challenges” Glenn Daehn, Ohio State: “Hybrid Autonomous Manufacturing. . .  In Space!”
4:15-4:45 p.m. Jung-Hyun Kim, Ohio State: “Non-Conventional, Multimodal Strategies for Enabling High-Voltage Lithium-Ion Batteries” Ohio State discussion panel, led by John Horack
4:45-7 p.m. Evening Reception – Ballroom and Patio
5:30 p.m. Student Poster Session – Ballroom


Thursday, May 11  – Registration/coffee begins @ 8 a.m.

9 a.m.-2 p.m. Focus Session 5:  Nano- Materials, Devices, and Robotics for Biological Applications Focus Session 6: Topology & Fractionalization in Magnetic Materials
9-9:10 a.m. Welcome and Introductions Welcome and Introductions
9:10-9:55 a.m. Ritu Raman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: “Neuromuscular Actuators for Medicine and Machines” Liuyan Zhao, University of Michigan­­­­: “Dual magnetism in a magnetic Weyl semimetal Co3Sn2S2”
9:55-10:40 a.m. Kristy Ainslie, University of North Carolina: “Metals and Peptides and Polymers, Oh My! Following the Yellow Brick Road Towards a Universal Influenza Vaccine” Shubhayu Chatterjee, Carnegie Mellon University: “Electrically tunable magnetism in Van der Waals heterostructures”
10:40-10:50 a.m. Break Break
10:50-11:20 a.m. Natalia Higuita-Castro, Ohio State: “Engineered Extracellular Vesicles for Therapeutic Applications” Yiying Wu, Ohio State: “Exploring Metal-Organic Frameworks for Kitaev Quantum Spin Liquids and Chiropics”
11:20-11:50 a.m. Eduardo Reategui, Ohio State: “Characterization of proteins and extracellular RNAs in vesicles and viruses for cancer and COVID-19 Detection” Brian Skinner, Ohio State: “The thermopower of topological semimetals”
11:50-12:20 p.m. Michael Poirier, Ohio State: “DNA based nanodevices for understanding the human epigenome” Zachariah Addison, Ohio State: “Topological Nernst and Thermoelectric Transport in Chiral Magnets
12:30-2 p.m. Student Awards Ceremony & Lunch – Ballroom and Patio