M&MS faculty member Zachary Schultz named AAAS fellow

mhuson Awards, General

Zachary Schultz, associate professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), in recognition of his contribution to science and technology.


Fellows are elected annually by peers serving on the AAAS council. The election to AAAS Fellow is one of the most prestigious honors a U.S. scientist can receive.


Schultz was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of analytical chemistry, particularly for ultrasensitive detection of molecules in complex biological matrices, imaging techniques and plasmonics.


The Schultz Lab focuses on developing new tools for identifying molecules relevant to biomedical diagnostics and other applications.


Schultz joined The Ohio State University in early 2018, after being recruited through the Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability Discovery Theme, operated by the Institute for Materials Research.


“These faculty members are the embodiment of Ohio State’s research-based, land grant mission — they are driving science forward to improve lives, not just in Ohio, but around the world,” said Morley Stone, senior vice president for research at Ohio State. “It is researchers like them that make Ohio State a national leader in scientific discovery and excellence.”


Schultz earned his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Ohio State in 2000. He then earned his doctoral degree in chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2005. Schultz is a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. He previously served as an associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame.


Seven researchers from The Ohio State University were elected as 2019 AAAS Fellows, including Randy Moses, who serves as senior associate vice president for research administration and professor of electrical and computer engineering. Moses is recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of signal processing, with applications to spectral analysis, array signal processing and radar imaging.


The 2019 group will be pinned and receive official certificates at a Feb. 15 ceremony, during the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle. Learn more.


Story by Mike Huson, IMR Public Relations Coordinator

Contact: huson.4@osu.edu

Follow: @OhioStateIMR