IMR Awards 11 New Facility Grants

ORISadmin Awards, Facilities, IMR Grants

Fall 2009 Facility Grants Awarded by the OSU Institute for Materials Research (IMR)

Eleven new research projects were awarded by the IMR in December 2009, for a total investment of $22,000. The eleven projects support faculty researchers from six departments within the College of Engineering and the College of Biological, Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

Fabrication and Characterization of Biomimetic Superoleophobic Surfaces
Lead Investigator: Bharat Bhushan, Mechanical Engineering

Research on Spintronic Phenomena in Organic-Based Materials and Organic-Based Biosensors
Lead Investigator: Arthur Epstein, Physics

Mechanically and Biochemically Compatible Tissue Constructs to Improve Cardiac Function
Lead Investigator: Jianjun Guan, Materials Science and Engineering

Surface and Tip Enhanced Single Molecule Spectroscopy for Energy Applications
Lead Investigator: Jay Gupta, Physics

Soft Microelectrode Arrays for Individual Cortical Column Potential Measurements
Lead Investigator: Derek J. Hansford, Biomedical Engineering

Radiation Damage and Disorder in Magnetic Multilayers
Lead Investigator: Ezekiel Johnston-Halperin, Physics

High Performance III-Nitride High Electron Mobility Transistors for Power Electronics
Lead Investigator: Wu Lu, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ultra High-Pressure Metallurgy
Lead Investigator: Wendy Panero, School of Earth Sciences

Composite Natural-Synthetic Polymer Fibers: Interfacial Control
Lead Investigator: Heather Powell, Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Science of Electron Beam Induced Reliefs in Germanium Sellenium Glasses
Lead Investigator: Ronald M Reano, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Micropatterning of Polymer Nanofibers for Functional Tissue Engineering
Lead Investigator: Yi Zhao, Biomedical Engineering