2016 OSU Materials Week – Conference in Review

2016 OSU Materials Week Schedule

Our 8th annual Materials Week was a fun and successful event!  Held May 10-13, 2016 at the Blackwell Inn and Conference Center on Ohio State’s Columbus campus, 2016 OSU Materials Week hosted 2 Crosscutting Sessions, 6 Focus Sessions and 2 Student Poster Sessions.  The IMR Keynote Address, “Rechargeable Batteries for Electric Cars,” was given by John Goodenough, University of Texas at Austin.


Ohio State President Michael Drake attended the closing session, saying a few words about the importance of materials research and sustainability on society, and congratulating our Student Poster Award winners.  In addition to 15 Student Poster Awards, Above and Beyond awards were given to four IMR staff and Yeoman awards were given to search committee and department chairs involved in the extensive faculty searches as part of the Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability Discovery Theme focus area.


2016 Student Poster Award Winners



2016 OSU Materials Week – Student Poster Awards


Michael Page, Physics (Advisor: P. Chris Hammel, Physics), “Optically Detected Ferromagnetic Resonance Using Nitrogen Vacancy Centers in Diamond,” Michael R Page, Vidya Bhallamudi, Carola Purser, Joe Schulze, Sergei Manuilov, Tomoya Nakatani, Chris Wolfe, Jeffrey Childress, and P. Chris Hammel


Sarah Watzman, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (Advisor: Joseph Heremans, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), “Magnon-Drag as a Pathway to High-Efficiency Thermoelectric Materials,” Sarah Watzman, Rembert Duine, Yaroslav Tserkovnyak, Hyungyu Jin, Arati Prakash, Yuanhua Zheng, Joseph Heremans


Kevin Galiano, Physics (Advisors: Jonathan Pelz, Physics and Steven Ringel, Electrical and Computer Engineering), “Spatial Localization of Electron Traps in GaN,” K. Galiano, D. A. Gleason, P. K. Paul, Z. Zhang, D. W. Cardwell, B. McSkimming, J. S. Speck, A. R. Arehart, S. A. Ringel, J. P. Pelz


Paul Gilmore, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (Advisors: Vishnu Sundaresan, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Yiying Wu, Chemistry and Biochemistry), “A Conducting Polymer Composite Cathode for Potassium-Air Batteries,” Paul Gilmore, Xiaodi Ren, Neng Xiao, Vishnu Sundaresan, Yiying Wu


Jose Lorie Lopez, Chemistry and Biochemistry (Advisors: Philip J. Grandinetti, Chemistry and Biochemistry and Anne C. Co, Chemistry and Biochemistry), “Evidence of capacity fade during delithiation of LixSn by in-situ 7Li NMR,” Jose L. Lorie Lopez; Philip J. Grandinetti; Anne C. Co


Brandon Giles, Materials Science and Engineering (Advisor: Roberto Myers, Materials Science and Engineering), “Temperature Dependence of Magnon Spin Diffusion in Yttrium Iron Garnet,” Brandon L. Giles, Zihao Yang, John Jamison, Roberto C. Myers


Steven Tjung, Physics (Advisor: Jay Gupta, Physics), “Crystalline Hydrogenation of Graphene Grown on Cu(111),” Steven J. Tjung, Grady A. Gambrel, Shawna M. Hollen, Jay A. Gupta


John Jamison, Materials Science and Engineering (Advisor: Roberto Myers, Materials Science and Engineering), “Investigation of the picosecond timescales of the spin-Seebeck effect in Pt/YIG,” John Jamison, Zihao Yang, Roberto Myers


William McCulloch, Chemistry and Biochemistry (Advisor: Yiying Wu), “A Potassium-Ion Oxygen Battery Based on a High Capacity Antimony Anode,” William D. McCulloch, Xiaodi Ren, Mingzhe Yu, Zhongjie Huang


Chris Ehemann, Physics (Advisor: John Wilkins, Physics), “A novel empirical potential for modelling martensitic transformations in Ti-Nb alloys,” Chris Ehemann, John Wilkins


Elizabeth Bushong, Physics (Advisor: Roland Kawakami, Physics), “Imaging Spin Dynamics in Monolayer WS2 by Time-Resolved Kerr Rotation Microscopy,” Elizabeth J. Bushong, Yunqiu (Kelly) Luo, Kathleen M. McCreary, Michael J. Newburger, Simranjeet Singh, Berend T. Jonker, Roland K. Kawakami


Janani Sampath, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (Advisor: Lisa Hall, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering), “Aggregate Alignment in Ionomers During Deformation from MD Simulations,” Janani Sampath, Lisa M Hall


Travis Hery, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (Advisor: Vishnu Baba Sundaresan, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), “Conducting Polymer as a Voltage-Gated Membrane Separator for Regulated Ion Transport in Energy Storage Devices,” Travis Hery, Vishnu Baba Sundaresan


Maxx Arguilla, Chemistry and Biochemistry (Advisor: Joshua Goldberger, Chemistry and Biochemistry), “Electrochemistry-Enabled Band Gap Modification of Organic Functionalized Two-Dimensional BN-Like (SnR)/P/As/Sb Graphane Derivatives,” M. Q. Arguilla, W. McCulloch, N. Cultrara, K. Krymowski, S. Jiang, W. Windl, Y. Wu and J. E. Goldberger


James Rowland, Physics (Advisor: Mohit Randeria, Physics), “Skyrmions in Thin Film Magnets,” James Rowland, Sumilan Banerjee, Mohit Randeria


IMR Distinguished Service Award:

Mark Brenner, Semiconductor and Epitaxy Analysis Laboratory


“Above and Beyond” staff awards:

  • John Carlin, Assistant Director, Nanotech West Laboratory
  • Mary McCleery, Administrative Associate, Nanotech West Laboratory
  • Jennifer Donovan, Executive Assistant, Institute for Materials Research
  • Layla Manganaro, Program Manager, Institute for Materials Research


Yeoman Awards:

  • Peter Anderson, Materials Science and Engineering
  • David McComb, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Roberto Myers, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Antonio Ramirez, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Douglas Graf, Architecture
  • Michael Cadwell, Architecture
  • Roland Kawakami, Physics
  • James Beatty, Physics
  • Giorgio Rizzoni, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Jami Shah, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Ahmet Selament, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Siddharth Rajan, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • John Volakis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Joel Johnson, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Prabir Dutta, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Susan Olesik, Chemistry and Biochemistry


2016 OSU Materials Week was brought to you by the OSU Institute for Materials Research (IMR) and the Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability Discovery Theme focus area










2016 OSU Materials Week was sponsored by Center for Emergent Materials, an NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC), and the Office of Energy and Environment