IMR Executive Director Steven Ringel named 2018 Distinguished University Professor

Steven Ringel (left) receiving the 2018 Distinguished University Professor award from Ohio State executive vice president and provost Bruce McPheron.


Steven Ringel is rarely at a loss for words.


But Ringel, a faculty member in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) for the past 27 years, found himself uncharacteristically taken aback Monday morning, while surrounded by his colleagues and family in a Dreese Laboratories lecture room. He had just learned he was named a 2018 Distinguished University Professor, in recognition of his exceptional record in teaching, research and scholarly work at The Ohio State University.


Ringel serves as ECE’s Neal A. Smith Professor, Associate Vice President for Research in the Office of Research, and is the Executive Director of the Institute for Materials Research (IMR). The Office of Academic Affairs announced the award Monday during a surprise presentation in Dreese Laboratories.


“It is a tremendous honor for the college to have the Distinguished University Professor award within the college and, again, joining a very small and elite group of faculty,” said David Williams, dean of the College of Engineering. “What you do for the college and the university is just extraordinary, and in the various leadership roles that you play in IMR and within the Discovery Themes, so it really has been — despite all I ever say about you — a tremendous pleasure to work with Steve and to build on the great things that he is doing. The college is truly proud.”


Joining Williams in the recognition — as well as the occasional, light-hearted ribbing — were several colleagues including Randy Moses, interim senior vice president for research and ECE professor; Joel Johnson, chair of the ECE department; and award presenter Bruce McPheron, who serves as the Ohio State executive vice president and provost.

Continue reading