Graduate students challenged to present three-minute theses at OSU Materials Week

Matt Souva (right) won top prize for his 3MT presentation at 2017 OSU Materials Week.


How much time would you need to explain your dissertation, from the painstakingly crafted proposal to collected data, findings, and conclusion? According to the University of Queensland, an 80,000-word thesis requires about nine hours to present.


Master’s and doctoral students taking the stage at 2018 OSU Materials Week, however, won’t have a second past the three-minute mark.


On May 8, the Institute for Materials Research (IMR) kicks off its 10th annual OSU Materials Week conference with a Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, founded and registered by UQ in Australia.


No props. No elaborate electronic media assistance. No dumbing it down. Presenters are allowed just one static slide to accompany their three-minute orations.


The 3MT competition is a challenge to effectively communicate a distilled, compelling thesis and its significance to an audience outside their specific scholarly focus. Hundreds of materials-allied researchers from industry and universities across the country and within The Ohio State University are attending this year’s Materials Week event.


Are you up for the challenge?


Continue reading

IMR Executive Director Steven Ringel named 2018 Distinguished University Professor

Steven Ringel (left) receiving the 2018 Distinguished University Professor award from Ohio State executive vice president and provost Bruce McPheron.


Steven Ringel is rarely at a loss for words.


But Ringel, a faculty member in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) for the past 27 years, found himself uncharacteristically taken aback Monday morning, while surrounded by his colleagues and family in a Dreese Laboratories lecture room. He had just learned he was named a 2018 Distinguished University Professor, in recognition of his exceptional record in teaching, research and scholarly work at The Ohio State University.


Ringel serves as ECE’s Neal A. Smith Professor, Associate Vice President for Research in the Office of Research, and is the Executive Director of the Institute for Materials Research (IMR). The Office of Academic Affairs announced the award Monday during a surprise presentation in Dreese Laboratories.


“It is a tremendous honor for the college to have the Distinguished University Professor award within the college and, again, joining a very small and elite group of faculty,” said David Williams, dean of the College of Engineering. “What you do for the college and the university is just extraordinary, and in the various leadership roles that you play in IMR and within the Discovery Themes, so it really has been — despite all I ever say about you — a tremendous pleasure to work with Steve and to build on the great things that he is doing. The college is truly proud.”


Joining Williams in the recognition — as well as the occasional, light-hearted ribbing — were several colleagues including Randy Moses, interim senior vice president for research and ECE professor; Joel Johnson, chair of the ECE department; and award presenter Bruce McPheron, who serves as the Ohio State executive vice president and provost.

Continue reading

Fulbright Week encourages future scholars and students, celebrates past recipients

On Monday, The Ohio State University kicked off its ninth annual Fulbright Week: five days of on-campus workshops, information sessions and open houses to inform faculty and students about opportunities available through the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program.


Ohio State is a top Fulbright grant producing institution, with nine Fulbright Scholars and 10 Fulbright Students in the 2017-18 academic year, according to the Chronicle of Higher Education.


The Fulbright U.S. Scholars Program offers a catalog of awards specific to those in the field of Engineering. However, all university faculty, professionals, undergraduate and graduate student are encouraged to participate and learn more about the Fulbright and Fulbright-Hays programs.


Continue reading

MAE associate professor Carlos Castro receives Fulbright grant

Carlos Castro, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, is set to spend this summer conducting research in Dublin, Ireland, after being named a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program grant winner.


The prestigious and highly competitive funding award helps continue strengthening international research ties at The Ohio State University.


Castro, a member of Ohio State’s Institute for Materials Research, will work with partners at Ireland’s leading materials science center, the Advanced Materials and BioEngineering Research (AMBER) Centre, collaborating with colleagues at Trinity College Dublin and the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI).


With the project, “Multiscale targeted delivery of DNA origami nanodevices,” Castro said he will work with researchers Cathal Kearney and Fergal O’Brien at the RCSI Tissue Engineering Research Group to “establish methods for the targeted delivery of DNA nanodevices to cells or tissues by incorporating the devices into biomaterials that can safely be injected into biological systems.”


Continue reading

2017 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program Awards

We are pleased to announce that after a thorough internal and external review process, 8 awards have been made to fund exceptionally promising, innovative materials research on campus through the 2017 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program.


These awards total $360,000 in internal research funding to 17 Ohio State researchers from 8 departments in two colleges. The program was able to fund 28% of the proposals submitted this year; 8 out of a total 28. Congratulations to the eight research teams whose projects were selected this year for seed grant funding.


The 2017 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program provides internal research funding opportunities through two distinct Funding Tiers designed to achieve the greatest impact for seeding and advancing excellence in materials research of varying scopes.


The OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program is jointly funded and managed by the Center for Emergent Materials (CEM), the Center for Exploration of Novel Complex Materials (ENCOMM), and the Institute for Materials Research (IMR).


A PDF with abstracts of each awarded research project is available online. Congratulations to the eight research teams whose projects were selected this year for seed grant funding!

Continue reading